Sun, Sand and Solitude

Leave a comment
Life / Wellbeing

Screenshot_2015-03-20-13-01-36~2 It has been a week today since I had my last shift at work. In that week I’ve sent myself and all my belongings from Melbourne up to my beautiful family in Lennox, I’ve seen Wicked the Musical, I’ve swam at the beach and spent more time alone than I have in months. Working six days a week at my bf’s parent’s cafe, and living seven days a week in their home meant I rarely had much time completely to myself. Now with my sisters at school and parents at work I’ve had just that. It’s been rather lovely to just sit, ignore my phone and reflect on all the amazing things about to come my way. One of my favourite songs to listen to when I’m at home is Xavier Rudd’s Follow The Sun. In it he sings:

‘When you feel life coming down on you, like a heavy weight, When you feel this crazy society, adding to the strain, Take a stroll to the nearest waters edge, remember your place. Many moons have risen and fallen long, long before you came.’

This, coupled with the fact that I haven’t had it at my back door, has made me re-appreciate the ocean and all it’s glory. So my advice to you is this: whatever your milestone, whether it’s negative or positive, big or small, take some time out on your own and go down to the beach. Dive under the surface and I guarantee when you come back up you will feel fresher and more able to tackle whatever life is throwing at you. It works for me every time, from preparing me for my adventure across the globe to dulling the pain of a self-inflicted hangover. Go for a swim, feel the water, breathe deeply and be grateful for everything you have.

Ruby xx

The Author

A fashion blog founded on friendship.

Talk to us!

