Friends Who Know Things + Ethical Fashion

comment 1
Fashion / Personal Style / Thoughts

made-in-america-might-work-out-in-the-long-run

I’ve always been a bit out the loop. I didn’t get a phone until I was 19, I still can’t drive, and I once rocked up at a friend’s house for her 21st only to find that it was being held at a restaurant…

I’m vague, a dreamer, my head either in the clouds or in a book, missing out on everything at eye level. I haven’t watched the news in months, catching only the headlines as I recycle the cafe newspapers at the end of a day at work.

I would love to be more informed and to have an intelligent opinion on the current affair topics that are bound to come up at North side hipster house parties. Unfortunately, it’s just not in my nature; I tend to turn inwards and create, rather than outside to soak up the world. That’s why it’s lovely to have friends who are passionate about everything I miss out on.

Over the past two years I have somehow managed to surround myself with incredible, intelligent, informed people and happily so- through conversation with these wonderful humans, I have become more aware of and knowledgeable about topics I once deemed too heavy or confusing.

My friend Nikkola is particularly wise. A long-time vegetarian and enthusiastic International Relations student, she is probably one of the brightest people I know. Passionate about women’s rights, she just returned to Melbourne after an internship in Kuala Lumpur, and is now bestowing her wisdom on little ignorant me.

Recently our conversation turned to ethical fashion, something I am hoping to explore more this year. Like Nikkola, I am going to take the time to research where my clothes are coming from, the conditions in which they were crafted, and the negative impact a simple (and admittedly, snazzy) pair of boots might have on the environment or another’s life.

Expect more on the subject of ethical dressing and please feel free to join the discussion in the comments section. I’d love to hear your thoughts/feelings/brilliant ideas.

All the love,

Jess xx

The Author

A fashion blog founded on friendship.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: A Lesson in Shopping Responsibly | Bella & Woodstock

Talk to us!

